NLP in Europe

Organisation President Contact Regional Scope Conference Journal
AILC (Italian Association of Computational Linguistics) Simonetta Montemagni Italy CLiC-it
CLIN (Computational Linguistics in the Netherlands) Gertjan Van Noord
  • Netherlands
  • Belgium (Dutch)
GSCL (German Society for Computational Linguistics & Language Technology) Torsten Zesch Germany KONVENS
NEALT (North European Association for Language Technology)
  • Andrejs Vasiljevs
  • Yvonne Adesam
    • Finland
    • Sweden
    • Norway
    • Denmark
    • Faroe Islands
    • Greenland
    • Iceland
    • Estonia
    • Latvia
    • Lithuania
    • Northwest Russia
    ATALA (Association pour le Traitement Automatique des Langues)
    • Iris Eshkol-Taravella
    • Christophe Servan
      France TALN
      TALN CPERM Sophie Rosset
      SDJT (Slovenian Language Technologies Society)
      • Simon Dobrišek
      • Kaja Dobrovoljc
        Slovenia Biannual conference
        SEPLN (Spanish Society for Natural Language Processing) L. Alfonso Ureña López Spain SEPLN
        PROPOR (Computational Processing of the Portuguese Language) Aline Villavicencio
        • Portugal
        • Brazil
          CLIP (Computational Linguistics in Poland) resources
          CLARIN Board of Directors
          META-NET Georg Rehm Europe META-Forum
          ELRA/ELDA (European Language Resources Association) Henk van den Heuvel Europe LREC
          RANLP Ruslan Mitkov International RANLP
          SwissText Mark Cieliebak Switzerland SwissText
          SLSP David Silva International SLSP
          TSD International TSD
          CLEF International CLEF
          PAN Martin Potthast International PAN

          Degree Programme

          A consortium of 7 European universities (Saarland University, University of Trento, Charles University, University of Malta, University of Lorraine, University of Groningen, University of the Basque Country) offer an integrated European Masters Program in Language and Communication Technologies (LCT).

          The joint curriculum follows the Bologna model for higher education in Europe and comprises 120 ECTS credits, 30 of which make up the Masters dissertation, and 90 of which are coursework credits made up of compulsory modules in Computer Science (at least 24 ECTS) and Language Technology (at least 24 ECTS), and advanced modules in these and related areas. The exact implementation of modules at the individual universities allows for limited variation exploiting the special strengths of each institution.

          Coursework is distributed over three semesters, while the dissertation is completed in the fourth semester.

          Students attend the two-year program at two European universities chosen from the consortium, typically spending one year at each. They can optionally complete a stay at one of the non-European partners. Graduates of the course obtain two Masters degrees from each of the two institutions attended and an LCT diploma supplement.

          The LCT Masters program has been successfully implemented since 2006, being funding by the Erasmus Mundus Programme from 2007 to 2011 and from 2013 to 2017. In 2012 the LCT Program operated as an Erasmus Mundus Brand Name. Intake 2019: the program commits to respecting the Erasmus Mundus requirements and to maintain the high quality of the implementation during the years of funding. Applications will be accepted from self-funding students or students with alternative sources of funding.

          For further details, please consult the LCT Program Homepage:

          Ivana Kruijff-Korbayova
          Dept. of Computational Linguistics,
          Saarland University,